The public conversation about energy safety is almost entirely about battery fires. The register does not show that. Grid infrastructure accounts for nearly half of every incident recorded, and electrical faults outnumber fires.
This report sets out what the register holds, counted on 2026-09-25. It is deliberately explicit about what the numbers cannot tell you, because a safety record that overstates itself is worse than no record at all.
This quarter73 incidents occurred between July and September
These are the incidents the register records as having happened in the quarter, by the date the reporting gives. 49 at grid infrastructure, 8 at solar pv, 5 at battery storage, 5 at wind (onshore), 4 at hybrid co-located, 2 at wind (offshore). 5 were major. 35 of the 73 are still provisional, published from first reports and rechecked automatically as more sources appear.
The 5 major incidents
| Ref | When | Where | Incident |
|---|---|---|---|
| EIR-0207 | July | Italy | Maintenance worker killed after being trapped in turbine blade mechanism in Italy |
| EIR-0201 | July | Canada | Turbine nacelle destroyed by fire at Pubnico Point Wind Farm, Nova Scotia |
| EIR-1154 | September | Cuba | Cuba nationwide grid collapse follows high-voltage transmission line failure |
| EIR-1220 | September | Puerto Rico | Explosion and fire at Carolina substation leaves more than 217,000 without power |
| EIR-1223 | September | United States | Battery storage fire forces evacuations in Southern California |
What it cost, where the reporting says
| Consequence | This quarter, as reported |
|---|---|
| Deaths | 1 recorded |
| Injuries | 3 recorded |
| Evacuations | 10 incidents with an evacuation |
| Downtime stated | 1 incidents, 5 site days in total |
| Loss estimate stated | Not stated for any incident |
| Regulatory action | 13 incidents |
Consequences are recorded only where a source states them. Most reports state none, and the absence of a figure is recorded as an absence, not a zero.
Quarter by quarter
Read a rise with care. The register widens its search as it goes, so part of any increase is the register seeing more, not the world producing more. 25 in July, 11 in August, 37 in September.
Significant incidents this quarter, a selection
| Ref | Month | Technology | Country | Severity | Incident |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIR-0212 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | Cuba | Significant | Fire at Alquízar substation cuts power to thousands in Artemisa |
| EIR-0228 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United Kingdom | Significant | Fire at New Milton substation causes major rail service disruption |
| EIR-0730 | Jul | Wind (offshore) | Germany | Significant | Blade failure on Vestas 15MW turbine at He Dreiht offshore wind farm |
| EIR-0191 | Jul | Wind (onshore) | United States | Significant | Third turbine failure in three years at North Fork Ridge Wind Farm, Missouri |
| EIR-0200 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | Spain | Significant | Transformer fire cuts power to thousands in South Tenerife |
| EIR-0241 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United States | Significant | Transformer fire cuts power to downtown Bangor apartment building during heat wave |
| EIR-0243 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United States | Significant | Transformer fire burns for hours at Hunterstown generating station |
| EIR-0558 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United States | Significant | Substation transformer fire cuts power to F.E. Warren Air Force Base, Wyoming |
| EIR-0224 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | Bangladesh | Significant | Fire at Dhaka substation near FDC intersection cuts power for hours |
| EIR-0097 | Jul | Battery storage | Germany | Significant | Battery storage fire in Bautzen, Germany prompts local evacuations |
| EIR-0238 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United States | Significant | Underground transformer explosion at Conti and Bourbon Streets, New Orleans |
| EIR-0220 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United Kingdom | Significant | Fire at Weymouth substation near coastal attraction cuts power |
| EIR-0196 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United States | Significant | Transformer explosion in Hackensack sparks car fires, power outage |
| EIR-0195 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | Bahamas | Significant | Transformer explosion at Blue Hills Power Station causes island-wide blackout in New Providence |
| EIR-0218 | Jul | Grid infrastructure | United States | Significant | Coney Island transformer explosion sparks fire, cuts power to 900 homes |
| EIR-1175 | Jul | Solar PV | United Kingdom | Significant | Rooftop solar panel fire guts NHS mental health ward in Malton |
| EIR-0095 | Aug | Battery storage | Romania | Significant | Overnight fire at Stâlpu battery storage site prompts multi-agency response |
| EIR-0166 | Aug | Grid infrastructure | Netherlands | Significant | Large fire at Meeden high-voltage substation proves difficult to extinguish |
18 of the 47 significant incidents. The full quarter, every entry with its sources, is in the register.
What failedThe component and the mode, where the reporting says
The most useful thing a record can say is what broke. News reporting says it less often than anyone would like, which is why not determined is the largest mode in every technology. Where it is stated, this is the pattern.
| Technology | Component most often named | Entries | Mode, where stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grid infrastructure | Transformer | 55 | electrical fault 10, external event 5, the rest not determined (3 major) |
| Switchgear or breaker | 20 | electrical fault 6, external event 2, control or software 1, the rest not determined (6 major) | |
| Wind (onshore) | Blade | 9 | mechanical failure 1, human or procedural 1, external event 1, the rest not determined (3 major) |
| Nacelle or gearbox | 9 | electrical fault 2, mechanical failure 1, human or procedural 1, the rest not determined (4 major) | |
| Battery storage | Cell or module | 26 | thermal runaway 7, electrical fault 3, the rest not determined (5 major) |
| Rack or enclosure | 6 | thermal runaway 1, the rest not determined (1 major) | |
| Solar PV | Inverter or PCS | 5 | electrical fault 3, the rest not determined |
| Module or string | 4 | external event 3, electrical fault 1 | |
| Hybrid co-located | Cell or module | 11 | thermal runaway 4, the rest not determined (2 major) |
| Rack or enclosure | 5 | electrical fault 1, mechanical failure 1, thermal runaway 1, the rest not determined | |
| Wind (offshore) | Blade | 3 | external event 1, mechanical failure 1, human or procedural 1 (1 major) |
| Tower or foundation | 1 | mechanical failure 1 |
Finding 01Grid infrastructure is the largest category, by a distance
Substations, transformers, switchgear and transmission account for 336 of 713 entries. Battery storage, which dominates the coverage, accounts for 105.
Share of all published entries. Grid infrastructure is 47%, battery storage 15%.
Finding 02Electrical faults outnumber fires
302 entries are classified as electrical and 277 as thermal. Thermal runaway is the subject of most of the industry’s safety writing, and it is not the largest category in the record.
Finding 03Most incidents happen on an ordinary day
573 of 713 entries, 80%, occurred during normal operation. Commissioning, which absorbs a large share of attention in contract negotiation and in insurance wordings, accounts for 50 entries, or 7%.
Severity across all entries: 458 significant, 160 minor, 87 major, 8 near-miss.
Finding 04The map shows where reporting happens, not where risk is
United States accounts for 255 entries and United Kingdom 100. United States is not 3 times more hazardous. It reports more incidents, in English, to outlets that are indexed and searchable.
| Country | Entries | Country | Entries |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 255 | India | 26 |
| United Kingdom | 100 | Germany | 22 |
| South Korea | 52 | Canada | 21 |
| South Africa | 41 | Not stated | 19 |
| Australia | 26 | Taiwan | 10 |
73 countries in total. 19 entries have no country stated in their sources, and are recorded as such rather than guessed.
For anyone pricing or financing assets outside the English-speaking world, this is the practical point. A clean loss history for a region may describe the reporting, not the region.
Finding 05Battery storage incidents are flat in the record
Recorded battery storage incidents by year of occurrence: 6 in 2021, 11 in 2022, 16 in 2023, 11 in 2024, 18 in 2025, 15 in 2026 so far. Deployed capacity has grown steeply over the same period.
This is the finding we hold most loosely. It is consistent with the industry’s argument that battery safety has improved, and it is equally consistent with our coverage of battery incidents being better in some years than others. It is offered as an observation, not a conclusion, and the entries behind it are all public.
Named this quarterWho the reporting named, by role
Every name below appears because a source named it in that role for an incident this quarter. Being named is not a finding of fault. The largest suppliers appear most because they have the most equipment in the field and the most reporters who know their names.
Operators
| Name | Incidents |
|---|---|
| National Grid | 2 |
| Bahamas Power and Light | 2 |
| ScottishPower | 2 |
| City Water and Light | 1 |
| LS Power | 1 |
| Versant Power | 1 |
| Entergy New Orleans | 1 |
| Duquesne Light | 1 |
| Tees | 1 |
| Con Edison | 1 |
| Portland General Electric | 1 |
| Electric Company of Artemisa | 1 |
Manufacturers
| Name | Incidents |
|---|---|
| Vestas | 1 |
| Siemens Gamesa | 1 |
| LG Energy Solution | 1 |
The verified recordEach incident this quarter, with what sits behind it
Empty cells mean no source states it. Nothing here is inferred.
| Ref | Date | Site | Operator | OEM | Integrator | Failed element | Root cause | Downtime | Loss | Regulatory | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIR-0201 | 2026-07-21 | Pubnico Point Wind Farm | NextEra Energy Canada | Nacelle, hub and blades destroyed by fire | Not reported; under investigation at time of reporting | single source | |||||
| EIR-0207 | 2026-07-21 | Aria del Vento wind farm | Blade motor mechanism | Under investigation; reported that the worker was pulled into the motor mechanism of a turbine blade while performing maintenance at height, cause not yet officially determined | Investigation opened by local Carabinieri (San Marco Argentano command) into circumstances of the accident and PPE compliance | single source | |||||
| EIR-1154 | 2026-09-18 | Cuba's National Electrical Union | High-voltage transmission lines | High-voltage transmission line failure in central Cuba, reported as provisional pending further detail; broader system attributed to fuel shortages and ageing infrastructure. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-1220 | 2026-09-24 | LUMA Energy substation in Carolina | LUMA Energy | single source | |||||||
| EIR-1223 | 2026-09-24 | single source | |||||||||
| EIR-0243 | 2026-07-02 | Hunterstown Generating Station (Hunterstown Combined Cycle Generating Station) | LS Power | Transformer | Not determined at time of reporting; investigation ongoing | single source | |||||
| EIR-0241 | 2026-07-03 | Gallagher Place / Bangor House Apartments | Versant Power | Ground-mounted transformer near apartment building | Transformer reportedly overheated, causing an electrical fire; described by fire officials as provisional cause | single source | |||||
| EIR-0238 | 2026-07-04 | Underground transformer vault, corner of Conti and Bourbon Streets | Entergy New Orleans | Underground electrical transformer | Under investigation; Entergy stated the cause is believed related to a fire beneath the underground vault, provisional pending further engineering assessment | verified | |||||
| EIR-0228 | 2026-07-07 | New Milton substation | Electrical substation adjacent to railway track | Not reported. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-1175 | 2026-07-08 | Springwood ward, Malton Hospital | Tees | Rooftop solar panel | Provisional: fire most likely started at one of the rooftop solar panels; extensive fire damage to the panels prevented determination of the specific ignition cause | single source | |||||
| EIR-0224 | 2026-07-11 | Substation near FDC intersection | Substation equipment, unspecified | Not determined immediately; cause of the fire was not reported. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0558 | 2026-07-11 | F.E. Warren Air Force Base | Substation transformer | Not confirmed in reporting; base attributed outage to damage to critical components at the substation caused by a transformer fire | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0220 | 2026-07-12 | Weymouth substation | Not stated | Not reported in available sources. | verified | ||||||
| EIR-0218 | 2026-07-15 | Con Edison | Utility pole and transformer | Not reported; article states a wooden utility pole and transformer failed and exploded, but no official cause was given. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0212 | 2026-07-18 | Alquízar electrical substation (Kv 4000) | Electric Company of Artemisa | Substation (Kv 4000) | Not determined at time of reporting; under investigation. No confirmed link to previously reported dielectric oil theft at the site. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0097 | 2026-07-21 | Cell or module | Not determined at the time of reporting. | verified | |||||||
| EIR-0730 | 2026-07-22 | He Dreiht | EnBW | Vestas | Turbine blade | Under investigation by Vestas and EnBW; not yet determined | Relevant authorities were notified immediately by EnBW | single source | |||
| EIR-0200 | 2026-07-23 | Electrical transformer/network equipment | Not confirmed; officials believe insulating oil inside the transformer caught fire, contributing to the blaze, provisional | single source | |||||||
| EIR-0196 | 2026-07-29 | PSE&G | Distribution transformer | Under investigation; cause of the transformer failure not yet determined | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0195 | 2026-07-30 | Blue Hills Power Station | Bahamas Power and Light | 15MVA transformer | Preliminary investigation by BPL indicated a suspected underground cable fault caused the explosion of a 15MVA transformer; described as a preliminary finding. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0191 | 2026-07-31 | North Fork Ridge Wind Farm | Liberty Utilities | Turbine tower/base and blades; entrance door at base of turbine broken off, all blades on the ground | Not reported; Liberty Utilities stated it was assessing the situation. A prior November 2023 incident at the same site was attributed to a lightning strike; cause of a January 2024 collapse not reported. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0188 | 2026-08-06 | Grammenitsa Extra High Voltage Center | PPC | Transformer at extra-high-voltage substation | Not reported; explosions occurred in a transformer, cause not stated by source | single source | |||||
| EIR-0167 | 2026-08-08 | Greater Changhua 4 | Orsted | Siemens Gamesa | Turbine (specific component not identified) | Under investigation at time of reporting | Relevant authorities and stakeholders notified per statutory reporting requirements | single source | |||
| EIR-0179 | 2026-08-14 | Jicotea substation | Electric Union of Villa Clara | Substation transformer and associated circuits (54 and 94) | Fire at the substation, reportedly linked to a long history of recurring faults in ageing equipment (in service since 1965); underlying cause of the fire itself not specified by sources. | 5 d | single source | ||||
| EIR-0184 | 2026-08-15 | Bellshill substation | ScottishPower | Not stated | Not reported. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0181 | 2026-08-17 | Tolosa power station | Edelap | Transformer | Reported as a fire at the power station that caused a transformer to explode; underlying ignition cause not stated (provisional). | single source | |||||
| EIR-0176 | 2026-08-20 | AEP Texas | Substation equipment (unspecified) | Not reported; cause of the fire had not been determined at time of reporting. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0170 | 2026-08-21 | Eastern Substation | Various pieces of electrical equipment at the substation were damaged by the fire. | Not confirmed at time of reporting; President stated the issue relates to the distribution network rather than the production sector. A formal investigation was ordered but no findings were reported in this source. | President ordered a comprehensive and transparent investigation into the causes of the incident and directed the government to provide resources to accelerate repairs. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0095 | 2026-08-26 | Not stated | Not reported. | single source | |||||||
| EIR-0166 | 2026-08-29 | Meeden high-voltage substation | TenneT | Switchgear or breaker | Not reported | single source | |||||
| EIR-0626 | 2026-09-02 | Lakeview Avenue electric substation | Village of Mayville | Mini-transformers and a feeder line at the substation | Provisional, as described by the village mayor: mini-transformers blew and one northside feeder failed, producing arcing and a small fire; full technical cause not yet determined at time of reporting. | Mayville Village Board approved a resolution declaring a state of emergency to expedite repair of the substation | single source | ||||
| EIR-0092 | 2026-09-02 | RWE | Substation | Not reported | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0091 | 2026-09-03 | Hermes Road substation | National Grid | Not stated | Thought to be accidental, not formally confirmed at time of reporting | single source | |||||
| EIR-0554 | 2026-09-06 | Chinchwad Extra High Voltage Substation | Maharashtra State Electricity Transmission | 22 kV current transformer and breaker unit | Technical fault causing an explosion in a 22 kV current transformer and breaker unit, described as provisional by officials | verified | |||||
| EIR-0161 | 2026-09-07 | Summerside Sunbank solar power farm | City of Summerside | One battery storage unit within a multi-unit battery energy storage system | Not reported; fire originated in one of several battery storage units at the site | single source | |||||
| EIR-0165 | 2026-09-07 | other | Under investigation, not established whether fire was accidental (technical fault) or deliberately started (arson); break-in at second site under separate investigation with cause unconfirmed | Police criminal investigation ongoing; nationwide search for a suspect linked to a series of attempted sabotage attacks on power infrastructure | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0778 | 2026-09-08 | Central Substation | City Power | Underground cable tunnels / substation infrastructure | Under investigation; City Power suspects illegal activity in underground cable tunnels, including possible theft and vandalism, may have contributed to the fire | single source | |||||
| EIR-0641 | 2026-09-10 | Bay Area Rapid Transit | Substation | Not reported. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0779 | 2026-09-15 | Long Atip solar hybrid station | Sarawak Energy Berhad | Battery and inverter room (approximately 480 batteries) | Not established at time of reporting | Marudi Fire and Rescue Department stated further action would be taken by its operational team upon arrival at the station. | single source | ||||
| EIR-1157 | 2026-09-17 | Whitelee Windfarm | ScottishPower | Turbine nacelle and blades | Not yet determined; under investigation by ScottishPower at time of reporting | ScottishPower stated it notified the relevant authorities; no further regulatory action reported | single source | ||||
| EIR-1039 | 2026-09-17 | Lambert Street 417 electricity substation | Msunduzi Electricity | Electrical cables inside substation | Not determined at time of reporting | single source | |||||
| EIR-1068 | 2026-09-18 | Mason Park substation | Ausgrid | Coil tower | Not yet determined; investigation to begin once site is safe to access | single source | |||||
| EIR-1153 | 2026-09-21 | KEPCO Power ICT Daejeon Center | KEPCO Power ICT Daejeon Center | 28 lithium-ion battery packs housed in two racks | Not reported. Under investigation by police and fire authorities. | Police and fire authorities are investigating the exact cause of the fire and the scale of the damage. | single source | ||||
| EIR-1222 | 2026-09-22 | Blue Hills Power Station | Bahamas Power and Light | transformer | suspected lightning strike | verified | |||||
| EIR-1178 | 2026-09-22 | Metropolitan Water District facility, 3000 block of Wheeler Avenue | Metropolitan Water District | unknown | single source | ||||||
| EIR-1226 | 2026-09-22 | A rat is mentioned as a possible cause (not confirmed) | single source | ||||||||
| EIR-1179 | 2026-09-22 | Georgia Power high-voltage substation | Georgia Power | transformer | not determined | single source | |||||
| EIR-1183 | 2026-09-22 | Subestación América | Corporación Nacional de Electricidad | single source | |||||||
| EIR-1194 | 2026-09-23 | industrial zone of Yozgat centre | transformer | investigation opened into cause | single source | ||||||
| EIR-1182 | 2026-09-23 | transformer | single source | ||||||||
| EIR-1224 | 2026-09-23 | Sabana Llana substation | single source | ||||||||
| EIR-1221 | 2026-09-24 | single source | |||||||||
| EIR-0242 | 2026-07-02 | CWL substation near Turtle Creek | City Water and Light | Potential transformer (PT transformer) | Under investigation at time of reporting; utility spokesperson said extreme heat may have been a contributing factor but could not confirm this as the direct cause | single source | |||||
| EIR-0240 | 2026-07-04 | Duquesne Light | Transformer | Not reported | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0171 | 2026-07-13 | Herrington Community Solar Farm | AC/DC converter | Investigation determined an AC/DC converter failed and sparked, igniting the surrounding dry grass; the breaker tripped automatically as designed. | Fire Chief and town code inspector required the operator to provide a letter confirming the system meets all applicable codes before the site could be restarted. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0214 | 2026-07-16 | PGE substation, 19th Avenue near Davis Street, Cornelius | Portland General Electric | Piece of substation equipment | Lightning strike or lightning-related electrical disturbance affecting substation equipment, causing it to catch fire; described as provisional as the story was developing at time of publication. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0206 | 2026-07-22 | Pepco | Capacitor bank on the roof of the substation | Not reported; cause of the fire was not immediately released | verified | ||||||
| EIR-0557 | 2026-07-23 | Garriochmill Way / Henderson Street substation | SP Energy Networks | Electrical substation equipment | Described by the operator only as a 'network fault'; cause not further specified | single source | |||||
| EIR-0199 | 2026-07-28 | National Grid | Substation equipment (unspecified component) | Substation overheated, as stated by fire service spokesperson; underlying cause not specified. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0572 | 2026-08-04 | BlueWave Asset Management | Single battery cabinet | Not reported; described as a battery cabinet failure | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0173 | 2026-08-21 | Bradwell-on-Sea wind farm | Wind turbine substation | Not reported | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0096 | 2026-09-01 | Transformer, Rue Principale, Ernster | Creos | Transformer | Not reported. Creos stated the cause of the fire was yet to be determined at the time of reporting. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0550 | 2026-09-07 | Not stated | Not reported. | single source | |||||||
| EIR-0548 | 2026-09-07 | Mylapore substation | TNPDCL | 230kV circuit breaker | Not reported; a breaker in the substation exploded, cause not specified | single source | |||||
| EIR-1190 | 2026-09-07 | inverter | Unauthorised inverter replacement by unqualified personnel in breach of equipment manual | Two individuals each received ten-day administrative detention under the Fire Protection Law | single source | ||||||
| EIR-0164 | 2026-09-08 | Substation in Utjeha | Montenegrin Electricity Distribution System | Substation | Not stated; local residents attribute it to a broader pattern of grid reliability problems including a prior pole fire and voltage fluctuations, but no official cause was reported. | single source | |||||
| EIR-0644 | 2026-09-09 | South Manheim Substation | PPL | Not reported. The source states the cause of the fire was not immediately clear. | single source | ||||||
| EIR-1083 | 2026-09-18 | White Hall substation service area | Central Virginia Electric Cooperative | Utility pole top | Not conclusively stated; fire was found confined to the top of the utility pole, with the transformer itself intact | single source | |||||
| EIR-1136 | 2026-09-18 | Moss Landing Power Plant, Vistra battery energy storage facility | Vistra Energy | LG Energy Solution | Damaged lithium-ion battery modules from the January 2025 fire, still present on site during demolition | Not stated for the September 2026 smouldering incident; occurred during EPA-overseen demolition of fire-damaged portions of the battery building to access severely damaged modules from the January 2025 fire. Damaged batteries remained charged despite being disconnected from the grid. | EPA oversight of demolition and battery removal; ongoing air monitoring, sampling, fire and smoke watches, water collection and testing, battery temperature monitoring and dust suppression | single source | |||
| EIR-1198 | 2026-09-20 | Sirius Solar | under investigation | single source | |||||||
| EIR-1188 | 2026-09-22 | single source | |||||||||
| EIR-1181 | 2026-09-22 | Subestação Carajás | EDP | Presence of birds on the electrical network | single source | ||||||
| EIR-1193 | 2026-09-23 | Eversource Energy | pole-mounted transformer | Utility pole fell for unknown reason, causing oil to spill from pole-mounted transformer and ignite. | single source |
This table is the quarter’s slice of the verified dataset. The same rows export as CSV from your dashboard.
What to do with itThe same record, read from six chairs
The findings above are the same for everybody. What they mean depends on where you sit.
Underwriters
The exposure is in the operating period
80% of recorded incidents happened in normal operation and 7% at commissioning. The operational policy is carrying the risk that construction wordings are so carefully written to cover. Electrical faults outnumber fires, so a survey built around fire protection misses the larger category. And a clean loss history in a territory that does not report in English may be a record of the reporting, not of the risk.
Brokers
Placement is an argument. This is the evidence
When the market loads for battery fire, the record shows grid infrastructure at nearly half of all incidents and battery incidents flat across five years. Before renewal, check every manufacturer, integrator and EPC on the client’s schedule against the register, so nothing in the risk presentation surprises an underwriter who has already looked.
Lenders and investors
Check the names on the term sheet before close
Every company named in published reporting has a page, 353 of them, and 40 of the largest manufacturers are watched daily so that a company with no published incident has a page that says exactly that, which is an answer a credit committee can minute. And because most incidents occur in operation, the independent engineer’s construction-phase review is not the end of technology diligence.
Developers and EPCs
50 incidents happened at commissioning. Read them first
Each entry records what failed, and the standards where the reporting referenced them. It is the shortest route to a specification that has already learned from somebody else’s site, and to a supplier shortlist checked against something other than the supplier’s own references.
Owners, operators and O&M
What failed, what contributed, what was learned
Every entry carries those three things where the reporting gives them. Use them to set the inspection regime, to plan for the days after an incident when a site has not yet been handed back, and to bring a supplier’s published history into warranty and service agreement negotiations.
Fire services, regulators and researchers
The same fields on every entry, every source listed
Free to read and free to cite. Where a source does not state something, the record says so, so nothing has to be unpicked before it can be compared with anyone else’s data.
The paid recordWhat sits behind each entry
Everything in this report is drawn from the free register. Behind each entry, for subscribers, sits the structured record where a source supports it: the site, operator, owner, manufacturer, integrator and EPC; the root cause and the failed element; capacity, age at incident, downtime and loss estimate; and every source with its verification status. Team plans add CSV export of the verified dataset and this report in full each quarter. Enterprise adds the API and weekly bulk files.
That is where the questions this report raises get answered for a specific site, a specific supplier or a specific book. Three complete records are free, sent by email within a minute, so the depth can be judged before anything is paid for. Plans are on the plans page.
Get the next report
One email when a newly reported incident is confirmed, at most two a day, and a Monday digest. No marketing. Unsubscribe in one click.
By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy. Nothing is stored on your device.
How much to trust itWhat each entry is built on
A record that does not say how solid it is invites the reader to guess, and readers guess generously. These are the register’s own figures for the 628 entries with a verified record behind them.
| Field | Entries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Two or more sources cited | 186 | 30% |
| Corroborated by independent reporting | 84 | 13% |
| Resting on one published source | 442 | 70% |
| Failed element identified | 535 | 85% |
| Operator named by a source | 419 | 67% |
| Capacity stated | 161 | 26% |
| Manufacturer named by a source | 110 | 18% |
| Integrator named by a source | 33 | 5% |
So: a count by technology or country rests on almost every entry and can be leaned on. A rate per GW rests on about a quarter of them. A cut by manufacturer rests on fewer than one in five, and by integrator on one in twenty. The register publishes those cuts, and it publishes these percentages next to them, so nobody has to find out the hard way.
What this report is not
652 of the 713 entries were published between 2026-07-01 and 2026-09-25. That is a new register working through an archive. It is not 652 incidents in a quarter, and nobody should report it as one.
By the year each incident occurred: 180 in 2026, 130 in 2025, 60 in 2024, 32 in 2023, 31 in 2022, 38 in 2021, 35 in 2020, 61 in 2019. Coverage of earlier years is partial and improving, so a rise across years in this register is a measure of the register, not of the world.
Grid infrastructure entries went from 10 in 2024 to 69 in 2025 to 110 in 2026. Grid failures did not multiply. The register’s coverage of them did.
MethodHow to check any figure in this report
- Every entry is written from published reporting, and lists the sources it was written from. Any number here can be taken apart entry by entry.
- Entries name the site, the town and the companies only where the source names them. A name a source does not give is a guess, and guesses are left out.
- Incidents submitted confidentially through the site are anonymised absolutely and carry no site, company or product.
- Where a source does not state something, the field records that it was not stated. Nothing is inferred from a photograph, a country or a technology.
- Entries published from first reports are marked provisional and rechecked automatically as more sources appear.
- Corrections are free and are made on request, whoever asks.
The register is independently run and self-funded. It takes no payment from any operator, vendor or service provider in the industries it covers.