Home / Power line and cable failures

Power line and cable failures

Every grid incident in public reporting that names a power line, a pylon or a cable: fires, failures and the outages that followed, each with its sources. Free to read.

Get the next power line and cable incident by email

139 entries so far, 81 since 2024. Confirm your email and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet (CSV), free. One email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.

We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.

Every power line and cable incident

Newest incident first. Search them, or narrow them by country, year or severity. Each entry is free to read, with what happened and its sources; the record behind it adds the cause where it is established, the part that failed, the downtime and the loss.

139 entries, showing the newest 20

See what failed, why, and what it cost

The record behind each entry: the manufacturer, integrator and operator, root cause, failure mode, downtime, losses and every source.

£39 a month

All 139 power line and cable incidents, with filters

139
Entries
24
Fires
28
Countries
16
United Kingdom
81
Since 2024

Counted from the register on 27 October 2026. The 139 entries whose own reporting names this, of 1,077 substation and transformer entries in all. A mention in the reporting, not a finding of fault.

What happened, and what failed

As the register classes each entry, from its sources.

What happenedEntries
Electrical107
Thermal / fire24
Other6
Near-miss1
Mechanical1

Parts named in the reporting

Counted from the words of each entry's own reporting: an entry counts under each part it names, and "Not stated" means the public reporting named none. A mention, not a finding of fault.

Part namedEntries
Cable or overhead line139
Transformer60
Switchgear or breaker13
Substation building or control room2

By country

CountryEntries
United States44
South Africa29
United Kingdom16
India11
Canada4
Australia4
Malaysia3
Ukraine3
Germany2
Russia2
Taiwan1
Turkey1
Bangladesh1
Greece1
Kenya1
Cuba1
Bahamas1
Japan1
Ghana1
Egypt1
Jordan1
Finland1
Brazil1
Netherlands1
Malta1
Trinidad and Tobago1
United States Virgin Islands1
Tanzania1
Not stated3

A free sample brief on the companies you work with

Type up to eight company names (operators, owners, manufacturers, contractors) and your email address. The brief comes back by email: every published power line and cable entry that names them, with its sources, and a plain line where a name has no entries. Free, once, no account.

Get three verified records free by email

Questions answered

How many power line and cable failures have there been?

The register holds 139 power line and cable entries from public reporting, 2013 to 2026, in 28 countries. 24 of them are fires or thermal events; the rest are electrical, other, near-miss and other incidents. Each entry lists its sources.

What causes power line and cable failures?

Where the public reporting names a part, the most common are cable or overhead line (139), transformer (60), switchgear or breaker (13). 0 of the 139 entries name no part. The register does not guess a cause; where a fire service, regulator or the operator states one, the entry carries it and says who said it.

Where do power line and cable incidents happen most?

In the reporting the register has found, United States (44), South Africa (29), United Kingdom (16) have the most entries. 16 are in the United Kingdom. That partly reflects where the assets are built and where the press reports on them.

Can I get an alert when a new power line and cable incident is reported?

Yes. Sign up on this page for power line and cable incidents: one email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account, and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet when you confirm.

What this page covers, and what it does not

Public reporting on power line and cable incidents often names the site but rarely the make, the model or the cause. The register does not guess them. Where a fire service, regulator or the operator states one, the entry carries it and says who said it.

Get the next power line and cable incident by email

139 entries so far, 81 since 2024. Confirm your email and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet (CSV), free. One email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.

We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.

How to use this