Home / Lightning strikes on energy assets

Lightning strikes on energy assets

Every incident in public reporting where lightning struck a substation, a solar farm, a wind turbine or a battery site, each with its sources. Free to read.

Get the next lightning strike incident by email

46 entries so far, 20 since 2024. Confirm your email and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet (CSV), free. One email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.

We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.

Every lightning strike incident

Newest incident first. Search them, or narrow them by country, year or severity. Each entry is free to read, with what happened and its sources; the record behind it adds the cause where it is established, the part that failed, the downtime and the loss.

46 entries, showing the newest 20

See what failed, why, and what it cost

The record behind each entry: the manufacturer, integrator and operator, root cause, failure mode, downtime, losses and every source.

£39 a month

All 46 lightning strike incidents, with filters

46
Entries
10
Fires
13
Countries
2
United Kingdom
20
Since 2024

Counted from the register on 27 October 2026. The 46 entries whose own reporting names this, of 1,897 substation and transformer entries in all. A mention in the reporting, not a finding of fault.

What happened, and what failed

As the register classes each entry, from its sources.

What happenedEntries
Electrical23
Mechanical12
Thermal / fire10
Other1

Parts named in the reporting

Counted from the words of each entry's own reporting: an entry counts under each part it names, and "Not stated" means the public reporting named none. A mention, not a finding of fault.

Part namedEntries
Transformer14
Cable or overhead line4
Not stated31

By country

CountryEntries
United States22
Australia4
Canada4
Ireland3
South Africa3
India2
United Kingdom2
Brazil1
Vietnam1
Japan1
Jordan1
Germany1
Guyana1

A free sample brief on the companies you work with

Type up to eight company names (operators, owners, manufacturers, contractors) and your email address. The brief comes back by email: every published lightning strike entry that names them, with its sources, and a plain line where a name has no entries. Free, once, no account.

Get three verified records free by email

Questions answered

How many lightning strikes on energy assets have there been?

The register holds 46 lightning strike entries from public reporting, 2011 to 2026, in 13 countries. 10 of them are fires or thermal events; the rest are electrical, mechanical, other and other incidents. Each entry lists its sources.

What causes lightning strikes on energy assets?

Where the public reporting names a part, the most common are transformer (14), cable or overhead line (4). 31 of the 46 entries name no part. The register does not guess a cause; where a fire service, regulator or the operator states one, the entry carries it and says who said it.

Where do lightning strike incidents happen most?

In the reporting the register has found, United States (22), Australia (4), Canada (4) have the most entries. 2 are in the United Kingdom. That partly reflects where the assets are built and where the press reports on them.

Can I get an alert when a new lightning strike incident is reported?

Yes. Sign up on this page for lightning strike incidents: one email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account, and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet when you confirm.

What this page covers, and what it does not

Public reporting on lightning strike incidents often names the site but rarely the make, the model or the cause. The register does not guess them. Where a fire service, regulator or the operator states one, the entry carries it and says who said it.

Get the next lightning strike incident by email

46 entries so far, 20 since 2024. Confirm your email and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet (CSV), free. One email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.

We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.

How to use this