Home / Battery storage explosions

Battery storage explosions

Every battery storage incident in public reporting that describes an explosion or deflagration, with the injuries and the response, each with its sources. Free to read.

Get the next battery storage explosion incident by email

31 entries so far, 11 since 2024. Confirm your email and every battery storage incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet (CSV), free. One email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.

We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.

Every battery storage explosion incident

Newest incident first. Search them, or narrow them by country, year or severity. Each entry is free to read, with what happened and its sources; the record behind it adds the cause where it is established, the part that failed, the downtime and the loss.

31 entries, showing the newest 20

See what failed, why, and what it cost

The record behind each entry: the manufacturer, integrator and operator, root cause, failure mode, downtime, losses and every source.

£39 a month

All 31 battery storage explosion incidents, with filters

31
Entries
28
Fires
12
Countries
1
United Kingdom
11
Since 2024

Counted from the register on 27 October 2026. The 31 entries whose own reporting names this, of 186 battery storage entries in all. A mention in the reporting, not a finding of fault.

What happened, and what failed

As the register classes each entry, from its sources.

What happenedEntries
Thermal / fire28
Electrical2
Other1

Parts named in the reporting

Counted from the words of each entry's own reporting: an entry counts under each part it names, and "Not stated" means the public reporting named none. A mention, not a finding of fault.

Part namedEntries
Rack or enclosure10
Cell or module8
Suppression system3
Inverter or PCS2
Transformer or switchgear1
Cables and connections1
Not stated13

By country

CountryEntries
United States9
South Korea9
Germany4
Austria1
Poland1
Spain1
Japan1
Martinique1
Sweden1
France1
China1
United Kingdom1

A free sample brief on the companies you work with

Type up to eight company names (operators, owners, manufacturers, contractors) and your email address. The brief comes back by email: every published battery storage explosion entry that names them, with its sources, and a plain line where a name has no entries. Free, once, no account.

Get three verified records free by email

Questions answered

How many battery storage explosions have there been?

The register holds 31 battery storage explosion entries from public reporting, 2018 to 2026, in 12 countries. 28 of them are fires or thermal events; the rest are electrical, other and other incidents. Each entry lists its sources.

What causes battery storage explosions?

Where the public reporting names a part, the most common are rack or enclosure (10), cell or module (8), suppression system (3). 13 of the 31 entries name no part. The register does not guess a cause; where a fire service, regulator or the operator states one, the entry carries it and says who said it.

Where do battery storage explosion incidents happen most?

In the reporting the register has found, United States (9), South Korea (9), Germany (4) have the most entries. 1 are in the United Kingdom. That partly reflects where the assets are built and where the press reports on them.

Can I get an alert when a new battery storage explosion incident is reported?

Yes. Sign up on this page for battery storage explosion incidents: one email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account, and every battery storage incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet when you confirm.

What this page covers, and what it does not

Public reporting on battery storage explosion incidents often names the site but rarely the make, the model or the cause. The register does not guess them. Where a fire service, regulator or the operator states one, the entry carries it and says who said it.

Get the next battery storage explosion incident by email

31 entries so far, 11 since 2024. Confirm your email and every battery storage incident on the register arrives as a spreadsheet (CSV), free. One email when a new incident is reported, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.

We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.

How to use this