Fire involves rooftop solar panels and lithium batteries on Bradford house roof
July 2024Published 5 Nov 2026Responsible editor: Chief Editor
Get the next one by email
Free alerts on solar PV incidents in the United Kingdom, and an email when EIR-2771 is updated. No account needed; unsubscribe in one click.
Confirm your email and every solar incident on the register arrives at once as a spreadsheet (CSV), free.
Get a free sample brief Three complete verified records and the incidents-per-GW table, by email within a minute.
We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By signing up you agree to the privacy policy.
What happened
On 26 July 2024 at about 5.38pm, fire crews were called to a house in Middlegate Court, in the Bierley area of Bradford, West Yorkshire. A spokesperson for West Yorkshire Fire & Rescue Service said that about 90 per cent of the roof was involved in the fire, including the solar panels and lithium batteries. Firefighters from Odsal, Bradford and Stanningley attended, supported by an aerial appliance from Leeds. Crews used two hose reels and two breathing apparatus to tackle the blaze.
The source does not report any injuries, the cause of the fire, whether the batteries were a home storage system, or how long it took to bring under control.
Contributing factors
Not reported. The source does not state how the fire started. It records that the fire involved the solar panels and lithium batteries on the roof.
Lessons learned
- Solar panels and batteries on a roof can be involved in a roof fire, so owners and installers should treat them as a fire risk in their design and maintenance.
- Fire and rescue services need up-to-date knowledge of which buildings have solar panels and battery storage so crews can plan their response.
- Householders should have solar and battery installations inspected periodically, and should report any signs of overheating, damage or unusual smells promptly.
More lessons on maintenance, inspection and ageing assets, from every incident on the register.
Published 2026-11-05. Written from public reporting. Descriptive, not investigative. See the data accuracy disclaimer.