Man seriously injured at Wuppertal substation, causing one-hour outage
July 2022Published 29 Oct 2026Responsible editor: Chief Editor
Get the next one by email
Free alerts on grid infrastructure incidents in Germany, and an email when EIR-2632 is updated. No account needed; unsubscribe in one click.
Confirm your email and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives at once as a spreadsheet (CSV), free.
Get a free sample brief Three complete verified records and the incidents-per-GW table, by email within a minute.
We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By signing up you agree to the privacy policy.
What happened
At about 18:43 on Sunday 31 July 2022, residents near the substation on Lüttringhauser Straße in Wuppertal-Ronsdorf reported a bang and a flash of light at the site. The energy supplier sent staff to the substation. At about 19:34 they found a man seriously injured on the ground inside the operational area. The rescue service gave first aid on site, and a rescue helicopter, which landed on a nearby meadow, flew him to a specialist hospital. The incident caused a power outage lasting about one hour. The source does not state how the man came to be on the site or what caused the bang.
Contributing factors
Not reported. The source does not say how the man entered the operational area or what equipment was involved.
Lessons learned
- Substations and other grid sites should restrict access, with perimeter fencing, locked gates, intrusion detection and regular patrols.
- Operators should have a procedure for checking on people on site after an alarm or flash event, and staff should be trained in first aid and emergency calls.
- Alarm times, staff response times and restoration times should be logged, so that the cause and the response can be established afterwards.
More lessons on theft, arson and site security, worker safety and safe systems of work, detection and monitoring, from every incident on the register.
Source
Published 2026-10-29. Written from public reporting. Descriptive, not investigative. See the data accuracy disclaimer.