Fire at Dan-Agundi transmission station in Kano, Nigeria
Mar 2024Published 24 Oct 2026Responsible editor: Chief Editor
Get the next one by email
Free alerts on grid infrastructure incidents in Nigeria, and an email when EIR-2540 is updated. No account needed; unsubscribe in one click.
Get a free sample brief Three complete verified records and the incidents-per-GW table, by email within a minute.
We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By signing up you agree to the privacy policy.
What happened
A fire was reported at the Dan-Agundi Transmission Station in Kano on a Sunday, in a report published on 10 March 2024. The station is described as a key power supply point for Kano City. Smoke engulfed the site and several parts of the surrounding area were affected. According to authorities cited in the report, the fire was damaging high-capacity transformers. At the time of filing, emergency responders had not yet arrived and residents were waiting for firefighters.
The cause of the fire was not reported. TCN had not issued an official statement at the time of the report. The report noted that the outage could worsen an already unreliable national power supply. The extent of the damage and the outcome of the fire were not reported in the source.
Contributing factors
The cause of the fire was not reported at the time of publication.
Lessons learned
- Transmission substations with high-capacity transformers need fire detection, suppression and clear access arrangements for the local fire service.
- Operators should agree emergency response times with local fire services in advance, so that attendance is not delayed.
- Operators should issue early public information on outages and safety status to limit public uncertainty while the cause is established.
More lessons on detection and monitoring, fire suppression and firefighting, emergency response and public communication, from every incident on the register.
Source
Published 2026-10-24. Written from public reporting. Descriptive, not investigative. See the data accuracy disclaimer.