Five workers injured in installation vessel accident at Triton Knoll wind farm
May 2020Published 17 Sept 2026Responsible editor: Chief Editor
- Where
- Seaway Strashnov at Triton Knoll, 32 km off Lincolnshire coast, UK
- Operator
- Seaway Heavy Lifting (vessel), innogy (wind farm)
- What
- Five workers injured overnight on 8 May 2020
- Injuries
- Five injured, airlifted to hospital; one remained at time of report
- Cause
- Under investigation
Get the next one by email
Free alerts on wind (offshore) incidents in the United Kingdom, and an email when EIR-0962 is updated. No account needed; unsubscribe in one click.
Confirm your email and every wind turbine incident on the register arrives at once as a spreadsheet (CSV), free.
Get a free sample brief Three complete verified records and the incidents-per-GW table, by email within a minute.
We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By signing up you agree to the privacy policy.
Companies named in the reporting of this entry (being named is not a finding of fault): Seaway Heavy Lifting
What happened
Five people were injured overnight on 8 May 2020 while working aboard the Seaway Strashnov, an installation vessel operated by Seaway Heavy Lifting, at the Triton Knoll offshore wind farm construction site about 32 kilometres off the Lincolnshire coast, UK. All five were airlifted to hospital for assessment and treatment. Three were discharged the following day, a fourth was discharged a few days later, and one remained in hospital recovering at the time of reporting.
The vessel and its remaining crew returned to port on 10 May while an investigation into the cause was launched. Innogy, the wind farm operator, and Subsea 7, the parent company of Seaway Heavy Lifting, both confirmed the incident and said they were cooperating with the relevant authorities. Neither company disclosed how the workers were injured, citing the ongoing investigation. The 857MW project was under construction and is jointly owned by innogy, J-Power and Kansai Electric Power, with innogy managing construction and long-term operation.
Contributing factors
Not reported. The cause of the accident was under investigation at the time of reporting and was not disclosed by either company.
Lessons learned
- An installation vessel at night needs tested plans for multiple casualties and helicopter evacuation from a working deck.
- A multi-casualty event on an installation vessel should trigger an immediate return to port to preserve evidence.
- Vessel operator, project operator and regulator should agree investigation duties before mobilisation.
More lessons on emergency response and public communication, investigation and fleet-wide checks, from every incident on the register.
Not yet known
- How the five workers were injured
- Equipment or activity involved in the accident
- Downtime and cost to the project
This entry is updated when these are reported. Get an alert for the next one like it.
Source
Site page: Triton Knoll (status, dates and other incidents)
Published 2026-09-17. Written from public reporting. Descriptive, not investigative. See the data accuracy disclaimer.