Transformer explodes and fire damages vehicles in Port Hope
May 2025Published 3 Nov 2026Responsible editor: Chief Editor
Get the next one by email
Free alerts on grid infrastructure incidents in Canada, and an email when EIR-2723 is updated. No account needed; unsubscribe in one click.
Confirm your email and every substation and transformer incident on the register arrives at once as a spreadsheet (CSV), free.
Get a free sample brief Three complete verified records and the incidents-per-GW table, by email within a minute.
We will also email you about the register's paid records and plans, at most once a week and three times in all. You can stop these at any time. By signing up you agree to the privacy policy.
What happened
On the night of Wednesday 7 May 2025, shortly after 10 p.m., Port Hope Fire and Emergency Services responded to several 911 calls reporting an explosion at the Esco property on Hope Street South, Port Hope. Firefighters found that a 44,000-volt transformer at the site had exploded and that the fire had spread to several vehicles parked below it. Crews extinguished the blaze without further incident. The failure of the transformer caused a power outage across a large part of the municipality. Elexicon Energy attended the location, and repairs and a damage assessment were under way at the time of reporting. No injuries were reported.
Contributing factors
Not reported. The source does not state the cause of the transformer failure.
Lessons learned
- Review separation distances between high-voltage transformers and parked vehicles, public areas and buildings, and keep exposed areas clear where practicable.
- Fire services should hold pre-incident plans for transformer sites that identify exposures such as nearby vehicles and outage impacts.
- Utilities should have rapid isolation and damage assessment procedures to limit the area affected by an outage and shorten repair times.
More lessons on spacing, layout and fire spread, fire suppression and firefighting, worker safety and safe systems of work, from every incident on the register.
Source
Published 2026-11-03. Written from public reporting. Descriptive, not investigative. See the data accuracy disclaimer.