What fails in battery storage
177 battery storage incidents from public reporting, 2012 to 2026. The parts each entry's own reporting mentions, counted; and, for the records the register has classified, the component and the mode where one was established.
Where the reporting mentions a part, rack or enclosure is mentioned most often: in 57 of the 177 entries, then cell or module (45) and cables and connections (13). In 69 entries the reporting mentions none of these parts. A mention is not a finding of fault.
Parts mentioned in the reporting
| Part mentioned | Entries | |
|---|---|---|
| Rack or enclosure | 57 | |
| Cell or module | 45 | |
| Cables and connections | 13 | |
| Suppression system | 12 | |
| Inverter or PCS | 10 | |
| Transformer or switchgear | 7 | |
| Controls and management system | 3 | |
| Not stated | 69 |
Component and mode, from the classified records
Component and mode: 63 battery storage records on the register have an approved record with a controlled component and mode, and 44 of those have no mode established in any public source. The component and mode of each record are in the paid record; these are the counts.
| Component | Records | Mode, where established |
|---|---|---|
| Cell or module | 36 | thermal runaway 11, electrical fault 2 |
| Rack or enclosure | 11 | thermal runaway 2, electrical fault 1, mechanical failure 1 |
| Transformer | 2 | not determined |
| Cable or connection | 1 | electrical fault 1 |
| Inverter or PCS | 1 | electrical fault 1 |
| Switchgear or breaker | 1 | not determined |
| Not stated | 11 | not determined |
Questions answered
What fails most often in battery storage?
Where the reporting mentions a part, rack or enclosure is mentioned most often: in 57 of the 177 entries, then cell or module (45) and cables and connections (13). In 69 entries the reporting mentions none of these parts. A mention is not a finding of fault. Component and mode: 63 battery storage records on the register have an approved record with a controlled component and mode, and 44 of those have no mode established in any public source. Each entry says what its sources established and nothing more.
What causes battery storage fires?
154 of the 177 battery storage entries are fires or thermal events. 154 thermal / fire, 13 electrical, 4 other, 2 commissioning, 2 gas release, 1 mechanical, 1 control system across the whole set. Where a fire service, regulator or operator stated a cause, the entry carries it and says who said it; where none did, the entry says so.
How many battery storage incidents are on the register?
177 entries from 21 countries, 2012 to 2026, 18 of them classed as major. Every entry is written from published reporting with its sources and is free to read.
Get the next battery storage incident by email
177 entries so far. One email when a newly reported incident is confirmed, at most two a day, plus a Monday digest. Free, no account needed, unsubscribe in one click.
By subscribing you agree to the privacy policy.
More: every battery storage entry · by year, country and what failed · what fails in the other technologies · data centres.