Refused on 21 November 2025. The evidence pack for a decided application is free to read in full. It is made from the register as it stands today, not as it stood when the application was decided. Every decided application · Order a pack for a live application
Energy Incident Register · Planning evidence pack
Incident evidence for Y Bryn Wind Farm
Made from the register on 29 October 2026, when it was opened. Free to read: this application was decided (refused, 21 November 2025). Made today from the register as it stands now; it is not the evidence that was before the decision.
At a glance
- Grid-scale battery incidents in the UK
- 5 1 classed as major. Section 2.
- Nearest UK incident
- 96 km EIR-0249, Pinhoe Road, Exeter, Devon. Section 2.
- Nearest refused scheme
- 39 km Pen Y Maes, Ashby Road, Vale of Glamorgan. Section 3.
- Schemes refused within 40 km
- 1 final outcome refused, of 2 sites with a refusal, withdrawal or appeal. Section 3.
- The register holds 5 incidents at grid-scale battery sites in the UK, 1 of them major. None lies within 50 km of the site. The nearest, EIR-0249, is about 96 km away.
- Within 40 km, 2 battery energy storage sites have had an application refused, withdrawn or taken to appeal. Final outcomes: 1 refused, 1 granted. The nearest refused scheme is Pen Y Maes, Ashby Road, about 39 km away.
- Worldwide the register holds 156 incidents at grid-scale battery energy storage sites in 18 countries; 136 involved fire or overheating. These are counts of published reports, not rates.
1. Key findings for this site
- The register holds 5 incidents at grid-scale battery sites in the UK, 1 of them major. Home, farm and business batteries are counted apart (9).
- The nearest is EIR-0249, Smoke and fire incident at Battery Box, Pinhoe Road, Exeter, about 96 km from the site.
- No recorded incident lies within 50 km of the site.
- 2 battery energy storage sites within 40 km have had an application refused, withdrawn or taken to appeal. Final outcomes: 1 refused, 1 granted. The nearest is Pound Farm Lane - Battery Storage (granted after resubmission), 28 km away. 3 schemes under 1 MW are listed apart.
Counts are of incidents in the register, which is built from published reporting. They are not rates and not a complete census.
2. Grid-scale battery incidents in the UK (5)
Nearest to the site first. Distance is a straight line from the site point to the place the entry is mapped to (a town or a site).
| Reference | Year | Incident | From the site | Severity | MW |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIR-0249 | 2026 | Smoke and fire incident at Battery Box, Pinhoe Road, Exeter | 96 km | Significant | |
| EIR-0058 | 2025 | Fire in two battery containers at Cirencester Hybrid Solar Farm, Gloucestershire | 124 km | Significant | 23 |
| EIR-0638 | 2020 | Explosion and prolonged fire at Orsted battery storage site in Liverpool | 207 km | Major | 20 |
| EIR-0584 | 2026 | Fire in a battery container at Rufford Colliery BESS, Rainworth; owner attributes it to a short circuit in NMC cells provisional | 244 km | Significant | 7 |
| EIR-0109 | 2025 | Fire in single battery unit at Thurrock BESS under construction | 286 km | Significant | 300 |
Each incident against the NFCC guidance
What the reporting says, set against the passages of the National Fire Chiefs Council guidance that fire service consultees cite. The guidance is advice to fire services, not law, and most of these sites were built before its current edition. The notes do not say a site broke it.
EIR-0249 Smoke and fire incident at Battery Box, Pinhoe Road, Exeter
Smoke came from the cabinet housing the grid connection, not from the battery modules, which the operator said were unaffected. The operator shut the batteries down and crews isolated the unit from the nearby substation. The capacity was not reported, so it may be below the 1 MWh the guidance covers. It bears on fire starting in equipment around the batteries, and on isolation points.
"Prevention of fire ignition on-site that could spread to BESS and associated infrastructure (for example, inverters, switchgear, and transformers)."
"Emergency shutoff or isolator locations"
Main source: bbc.com. All sources are on the entry page.
EIR-0058 Fire in two battery containers at Cirencester Hybrid Solar Farm, Gloucestershire
Two battery containers burned and crews stopped the fire reaching a third. More than 40 firefighters attended with high volume pumps. Residents were told to keep windows and doors shut and nearby roads were closed. The cause was not confirmed in the reporting. It bears on spacing, on bringing large volumes of water to a rural site, and on planning for neighbours and smoke.
"The emergency response plan should assume that the fire will not spread beyond the BESS container of origin."
"This should also take account of the ability of/anticipated time for the fire and rescue service to bring larger volumes of water to site (for example through the provision of High Volume Pumps)."
"The developer should produce a plan that identifies all sensitive receptors within a 1km radius of the site."
"The assessment should recognise that any incident may last several hours."
Main source: cotswoldjournal.co.uk. All sources are on the entry page.
EIR-0638 Explosion and prolonged fire at Orsted battery storage site in Liverpool
The explosion happened before crews arrived. The fitted suppression system did not activate, the site was managed remotely from Denmark and that remote management did not alert the fire service when the alarm actuated, and crews said the risk information for the site was inadequate. Firefighting and monitoring took about 59 hours. The site was built before any NFCC guidance existed. The points it bears on in the current edition are explosion control, alerting the fire service, the limits of suppression, and planning for a long incident.
"BESS containers should be fitted with explosion protection or deflagration venting appropriate to the hazard and battery technology deployed."
"How will the BESS and associated equipment be monitored, and what is the process for alerting the fire and rescue service?"
"The suppression system, regardless of type, will have little effect on a thermal event within the battery cell."
"The assessment should recognise that any incident may last several hours."
Main source: epri.box.com. All sources are on the entry page.
EIR-0584 Fire in a battery container at Rufford Colliery BESS, Rainworth; owner attributes it to a short circuit in NMC cells
A fire in one battery container on 1 May 2026. The fire service was called at 05:21 and, according to the owner, the fire was put out "in short order" with no injuries. The owner said an initial investigation found the cause to be a short circuit in the site's NMC cells, a technology the fund says it has not used in any BESS bought since 2020 and was already augmenting. The entry rests on one trade report, so it is provisional. It bears on cell chemistry and on early fault detection that can isolate a battery remotely.
"From a safety perspective, it is noted that LFP batteries typically have better thermal stability (lowering the probability of thermal runaway) than NMC batteries, but not removing it."
"An effective and appropriate method of early fault detection within the batteries should be in place, making it possible to immediately disconnect the affected battery/batteries remotely."
Main source: ess-news.com. All sources are on the entry page.
EIR-0109 Fire in single battery unit at Thurrock BESS under construction
A cell fault in one container started the fire while the site was still under construction. The fire service said spacing between units and a reliable local water supply helped stop it spreading. Crews were on site for about 24 hours.
"The emergency response plan should assume that the fire will not spread beyond the BESS container of origin."
"Therefore, an additional on-site water supply must be accessible to fire and rescue services in the event of an emergency."
"A standard minimum spacing between units of 6 metres is suggested unless suitable design features can be introduced to reduce that spacing."
"As a minimum, it is recommended that hydrant supplies for boundary cooling purposes should be located close to BESS containers (but considering safe access in the event of a fire) and should be capable of delivering no less than 1,900 litres per minute for at least 2 hours."
Main source: energy-storage.news. All sources are on the entry page.
3. Planning decisions on battery energy storage schemes nearby
Sites within 40 km of the site where an application was refused, withdrawn or taken to appeal, from the government's Renewable Energy Planning Database, those in Welsh Government (NSIP) first. Each row is one site: a refused scheme that was sent in again is one row, with every application listed. The final outcome is that of the latest application. Schemes under 1 MW are listed apart, below the table. Councils with a scheme in this radius: Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Bridgend, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Carmarthenshire, Vale of Glamorgan, Merthyr Tydfil, Caerphilly, Cardiff. The database does not record the reasons for a decision; the council's planning record does, under the application number.
| Site | Council | Applications | Final outcome | MW | From the site |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pound Farm Lane - Battery Storage newer official status | Rhondda Cynon Taf | 21/1492/10: submitted 8 Nov 2021, refused 4 Apr 2022 25/1231/FUL: submitted 28 Nov 2025, granted 2 Jul 2026 25/1231/FUL: status as recorded in the register: Application Submitted. Newer official status: Approved by the council's planning committee on 2 July 2026 (source: Rhondda Cynon Taf Council, Planning and Development Committee minutes, 2 July 2026, checked 9 Oct 2026). | Granted after resubmission 2 applications | 30 to 200 | 28 km |
| Pen Y Maes, Ashby Road - Battery Energy Storage | Vale of Glamorgan | 2024/00999/FUL: submitted 25 Oct 2024, refused 23 May 2025 | Refused | 50 | 39 km |
Under 1 MW, kept apart (3): Swansea Enterprise Park, Clarion Close (Swansea, refused, 16 km); Harriet Street (Rhondda Cynon Taf, refused, 23 km); Heol Y Mynydd Road (Swansea, refused, 24 km).
Not counted: Pengarnddu Industrial Estate, Dowlais (Merthyr Tydfil, abandoned without a decision, 33 km).
All battery energy storage applications within 40 km by database status: Awaiting Construction 32, Application Submitted 19, Under Construction 4, Application Refused 4, Operational 3, Revised 2, Abandoned 1. A "council record" mark means the council's own planning record shows a decision the government database did not yet have; the site page explains it. A "newer official status" mark means an official source (a council record or committee minutes, the Scottish Government or the Planning Inspectorate) shows a newer status than the government database; the outcome uses it, and the row names the source and the day it was checked.
4. Every recorded incident within 50 km
Measured on a map from the planning record for Y Bryn Wind Farm. Every size of site is included here, so a home battery fire nearby is shown, marked as such. Entries are found by their map point only, never by matching words in the text. 3 UK entries have no map point yet and cannot be measured.
None within 50 km.
5. Grid-scale incidents at sites of a similar size
No capacity was given, so this section is empty.
6. Lessons for a grid-scale site
The lessons written into the register's entries: every UK grid-scale incident first, then major grid-scale incidents elsewhere. No home battery lessons. Each is the register's reading of the published reporting, not a finding by an investigator.
- BESS containers need verified automatic fire suppression that activates on detection, as the system here failed to actuate and allowed thermal runaway to continue. EIR-0638
- A site monitored remotely must alert the local fire service as soon as its fire alarm actuates. Here the site was managed remotely by Orsted from Denmark, and that remote management did not alert the fire service when the alarm actuated. Orsted first contacted Fire Control at about 01:30, after the first crew had arrived at 00:57. EIR-0638
- Site risk information must include BESS layout, chemistry and voltage so crews can plan defensive tactics before arrival, given the explosion and debris. EIR-0638
- Grid connection cabinets at battery sites need routine thermal and electrical checks as well as the battery modules. EIR-0249
- Operators should agree isolation steps with the network operator in advance so fire crews can act quickly. EIR-0249
- Joint reviews with the network operator help separate grid faults from battery faults. EIR-0249
- A short circuit in NMC lithium-ion cells can start a fire, so operators should fit detection systems able to isolate strings before thermal runaway spreads. EIR-0584
- Battery management systems must be proven to detect abnormal cell voltage or temperature early, as the trigger for this short circuit was not stated. EIR-0584
- Owners should publish cause findings after a BESS fire, as the owner did here, so other operators can check the same failure mode in their own fleets. EIR-0584
- Lithium-ion battery container fires can spread between enclosures, so operators should verify separation distances and compartment barriers during design reviews. EIR-0058
- Smoke from burning battery materials requires advance shelter advice for nearby residents at rural sites. EIR-0058
- Unmanned hybrid sites need remote monitoring that identifies involved enclosures before crews arrive. EIR-0058
- Containerised battery units must keep designed spacing during construction, as separation limited spread after a cell fault led to ignition. EIR-0109
- Fire response plans and contacts must be agreed with local crews from the start of construction, as the site was evacuated and handed back after the fire. EIR-0109
- Unenergised battery units remain a fire risk in the construction phase, so risk assessments must cover evacuation triggers and site handover. EIR-0109
- Grid-scale storage in a single large building rather than separate containers requires review of total fire load and internal barriers to limit propagation between racks. EIR-0010
- A pattern of repeated minor thermal events at a site should trigger a documented root cause review before adding further capacity. EIR-0010
- Plan in advance for reignition during the days and weeks after the initial event, including continued monitoring and safe removal of damaged units. EIR-0010
- Grid scale lithium ion battery fires can produce weeks of flare ups, so operators must plan for extended site security and monitoring after the initial event. EIR-0013
- Cleanup of fire damaged lithium ion cells requires environmental monitoring and specialist disposal, so contracts and protocols should be ready before any incident. EIR-0013
- Regulatory settlements after battery fires can impose months of reporting duties without fines, so emergency plans must allocate staff for ongoing compliance. EIR-0013
- Co-located solar and battery sites need isolation plans that cover both electrical faults and thermal events together. EIR-0006
- Evacuation plans for sites near schools and businesses must account for toxic smoke from lithium-ion events. EIR-0006
- Water supply planning for co-located sites must cover sustained high volumes over multiple days. EIR-0006
- NMC lithium-ion cells in a utility-scale BESS can produce flare-ups for days, so operators must plan for prolonged monitoring and exclusion zones after the first signs of thermal runaway. EIR-0001
- A prior thermal event at the same BESS site raises the chance of repeat failure, so response plans must record and brief staff on that history. EIR-0001
- NMC cells and high cell density increase propagation risk, so operators should verify that enclosure spacing and containment match the chosen chemistry in the safety case. EIR-0001
- NOVEC 1230 fire-suppression gas combined with firefighting water at a BESS site can form PFPrA at 10,000 parts per billion, so operators should test suppression chemistry for persistent environmental byproducts before use. EIR-0643
- Only 0.04 per cent of batteries burned at this modular containerised site, so insurers should verify that design limits fire spread compared with enclosed buildings. EIR-0643
- Four water wells 2,500 feet from the plant were taken out of service after PFPrA detection, so operators must agree groundwater testing protocols with regulators in advance. EIR-0643
- A lithium-ion battery at 95% state of charge releases large stored energy during fire, so operators should supply state of charge data to responders before any incident. EIR-0130
- Opening a battery container after inert gas suppression can trigger thermal event and explosion, so procedures must set safe stand-off distances before doors are opened. EIR-0130
- Automatic fire suppression systems may fail to stop thermal runaway in lithium-ion containers once it starts, so operators should plan for remote isolation and long-duration response. EIR-0135
- Critical data servers inside battery containers risk total data loss in a fire, so they should be placed in a separate enclosure. EIR-0135
- Battery fires can last several days, so emergency plans must include sustained cooling and exclusion zones rather than short interventions. EIR-0135
- A lithium-ion BESS fire may require robotic entry to assess gases before any person goes inside, so operators should arrange remote entry tools with the fire service in advance. EIR-0025
- Sprinkler systems in battery storage buildings are designed for containment over many days, so plans must cover prolonged water supply, drainage and run-off control. EIR-0025
- A prior explosion at a nearby battery site led to a defensive response here, so local fire services should embed earlier incident findings in pre-plans for similar facilities. EIR-0025
- Liquid cooling system leaks in Megapack units can cause arcing in power electronics, so pressure test and inspect every circuit after installation before energisation. EIR-0012
- SCADA mapping latency of around 24 hours during commissioning leaves new units unmonitored, so do not energise until full telemetry and alarms are verified active. EIR-0012
7. The NFCC guidance points consultees cite
Quoted word for word from NFCC, Grid scale energy storage system planning: Guidance for fire and rescue services (approved for publication in December 2025, replacing the first edition), checked on 8 October 2026. Many consultee responses still quote the first edition (Version 1.0, November 2022), so its figures are given too, marked as such.
Scope
"This guidance relates to battery energy storage systems (BESS) which are deployed in open air environments, with an energy capacity of one megawatt hour (MWh) or greater using lithium variant batteries."
"Domestic BESS are outside the scope of this guidance."
"As such, the fire and rescue service are not a statutory consultee in planning applications for BESS sites."
Spacing between units, and to buildings
"The emergency response plan should assume that the fire will not spread beyond the BESS container of origin."
"An initial minimum distance of 30m is proposed between BESS cabinets (or associated infrastructure such as transformers and switchgear) and occupied buildings, before considering any mitigation such as blast walls."
"A standard minimum spacing between units of 6 metres is suggested unless suitable design features can be introduced to reduce that spacing."
Water for firefighting
"Therefore, an additional on-site water supply must be accessible to fire and rescue services in the event of an emergency."
"Fire hydrants provided should achieve a flow rate of no less than 25L/sec at any hydrant on the site."
"Where a flow of 25L/sec cannot be achieved, it would be prudent to provide an equivalent static supply of water on site that will provide for the same flow rate for a duration of 120 minutes. This equates to approximately 180,000L of water."
"As a minimum, it is recommended that hydrant supplies for boundary cooling purposes should be located close to BESS containers (but considering safe access in the event of a fire) and should be capable of delivering no less than 1,900 litres per minute for at least 2 hours."
Detection, alerting and isolation
"An effective and appropriate method of early fault detection within the batteries should be in place, making it possible to immediately disconnect the affected battery/batteries remotely."
"How will the BESS and associated equipment be monitored, and what is the process for alerting the fire and rescue service?"
"How the fire and rescue service will be alerted"
"Emergency shutoff or isolator locations"
Suppression and explosion control
"The suppression system, regardless of type, will have little effect on a thermal event within the battery cell."
"BESS containers should be fitted with explosion protection or deflagration venting appropriate to the hazard and battery technology deployed."
Access, neighbours and how long an incident lasts
"It is therefore preferable to have an alternative access point, taking account of the likely wind direction."
"The developer should produce a plan that identifies all sensitive receptors within a 1km radius of the site."
"The assessment should recognise that any incident may last several hours."
8. Questions to put to the applicant
Each question asks for information the guidance in section 7 says a battery site should have. It names where an application usually holds the answer, the passages it rests on, and the UK entries where the point came up. Asking for information does not say a scheme is unsafe; the same questions serve a council, a neighbour, or an applicant checking its own submission.
1. Spacing
What spacing does the layout show between battery units, and between the batteries, transformers and switchgear and the nearest occupied building? Does the emergency response plan assume a fire stays in the unit where it starts?
Where the answer usually is: The site layout plan and the outline battery safety management plan.
Rests on: Section 12, Spacing between BESS; Access between BESS units and unit spacing (first edition), quoted in section 7.
Where it came up in the UK: EIR-0058 (Fire in two battery containers at Cirencester Hybrid Solar Farm, Gloucestershire); EIR-0109 (Fire in single battery unit at Thurrock BESS under construction). Section 2 has the note on each.
2. Water
Where will water for firefighting come from: hydrants on the site and the flow they give, or a supply stored on the site, and for how long?
Where the answer usually is: The outline battery safety management plan, a water supply statement, or the fire and rescue service’s comments.
Rests on: Section 14, Water supplies, quoted in section 7.
Where it came up in the UK: EIR-0109 (Fire in single battery unit at Thurrock BESS under construction). Section 2 has the note on each.
3. Detection and alerting
How will a fault inside a battery be detected, how will the fire and rescue service be alerted, and where are the emergency isolators?
Where the answer usually is: The outline battery safety management plan.
Rests on: Section 8, Detection and monitoring; Section 6, questions for the developer (Detection and monitoring); Section 16, Outline battery safety management plan, quoted in section 7.
Where it came up in the UK: EIR-0249 (Smoke and fire incident at Battery Box, Pinhoe Road, Exeter); EIR-0584 (Fire in a battery container at Rufford Colliery BESS, Rainworth; owner attributes it to a short circuit in NMC cells); EIR-0638 (Explosion and prolonged fire at Orsted battery storage site in Liverpool). Section 2 has the note on each.
4. Explosion control
What explosion protection or deflagration venting will the units have, and what is the fitted suppression system expected to do?
Where the answer usually is: The equipment specification or the outline battery safety management plan.
Rests on: Section 10, Explosion control (deflagration protection); Section 9, Suppression systems, quoted in section 7.
Where it came up in the UK: EIR-0638 (Explosion and prolonged fire at Orsted battery storage site in Liverpool). Section 2 has the note on each.
5. Neighbours and access
Which sensitive receptors within 1 km have been identified, is there a second way in for fire engines, and does the plan allow for an incident lasting several hours?
Where the answer usually is: The outline battery safety management plan, the emergency response plan and the transport or access statement.
Rests on: Site location; Section 11, Access (Site access), quoted in section 7.
Where it came up in the UK: EIR-0058 (Fire in two battery containers at Cirencester Hybrid Solar Farm, Gloucestershire); EIR-0638 (Explosion and prolonged fire at Orsted battery storage site in Liverpool). Section 2 has the note on each.
6. The fire and rescue service
Has the applicant engaged the local fire and rescue service, and has the planning authority had its comments?
Where the answer usually is: The planning file: consultation responses, or the applicant’s statement of engagement.
Rests on: Section 4, Planning approval process, quoted in section 7.
7. Battery chemistry
Which battery chemistry is proposed?
Where the answer usually is: The design and access statement or the equipment specification.
Rests on: Section 7, Battery chemistry (quoting the 2024 Frazer-Nash report for DESNZ), quoted in section 7.
Where it came up in the UK: EIR-0584 (Fire in a battery container at Rufford Colliery BESS, Rainworth; owner attributes it to a short circuit in NMC cells). Section 2 has the note on each.
Conditions to ask for, if permission is granted
A consultee can ask the planning authority to attach conditions to a permission, whatever its view of the scheme. These follow the guidance in section 7. The planning authority decides which conditions to attach and how they are worded.
- Before construction starts, a battery safety management plan in line with the NFCC guidance, approved by the planning authority after consulting the fire and rescue service. (Section 16, Outline battery safety management plan; Section 4, Planning approval process)
- Before the batteries are first energised, the firefighting water supply set out in that plan installed and working. (Section 14, Water supplies)
- Before the site operates, an emergency response plan shared with the fire and rescue service, saying how it will be alerted and where the isolators are. (Section 6, questions for the developer (Detection and monitoring); Section 16, Outline battery safety management plan; Site location)
- The site built to the approved layout, keeping the spacing shown between units and to occupied buildings. (Section 12, Spacing between BESS)
Making a response count
- Tie each point to a document in the application, a passage of guidance, or a recorded incident. A planning officer can weigh a specific, sourced point more easily than a general concern.
- Ask for information, or for conditions. A planning officer can act on both.
- Keep to matters a planning authority can weigh, such as safety, access and the effect on neighbours.
- Quote the guidance and the entries with their citations (section 11 has paragraphs ready to paste).
Information only. It is not legal, planning or fire safety advice.
9. Worldwide context
156 incidents at grid-scale battery energy storage sites in 18 countries; 136 involved fire or overheating and 17 are classed as major. 33 further entries are home, farm or business batteries, or not battery failures, and are not counted here.
| Year | Worldwide | UK |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 23 | 2 |
| 2025 | 25 | 2 |
| 2024 | 19 | 0 |
| 2023 | 25 | 0 |
| 2022 | 17 | 0 |
| 2021 | 8 | 0 |
| 2020 | 2 | 1 |
| 2019 | 15 | 0 |
| 2018 | 14 | 0 |
| 2017 | 4 | 0 |
| Earlier | 4 |
| Stage of life | Incidents | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Commissioning | 15 | 10% |
| Normal operation | 110 | 71% |
| Maintenance | 1 | 1% |
| End-of-life | 1 | 1% |
| Not stated | 29 | 19% |
More recent years hold more entries partly because more is reported and found online. A rising count is not, by itself, a rising rate.
10. Kept apart: other battery entries in the UK (9)
Home, farm and business batteries, concerns raised where nothing failed, and events at battery sites that were not battery failures. NFCC's grid-scale guidance does not cover home batteries ("Domestic BESS are outside the scope of this guidance."), so they are listed here and not in the tables above.
| Reference | Year | Incident | Country | Kind of site |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIR-1520 | 2026 | Fire in home battery storage system connected to solar panels | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-0681 | 2026 | Gas leak at Cockenzie battery storage site under construction provisional | United Kingdom | Not a battery failure |
| EIR-0462 | 2025 | Mini battery storage system ignites garden shed fire in Wickford, Essex provisional | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-0459 | 2025 | Domestic fire reported to have prompted a safety warning about solar battery storage provisional | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-1514 | 2024 | Garage fire destroys solar panels in Southgate, with a battery storage fault suspected provisional | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-1400 | 2023 | Solar panel and battery fire at a bungalow on Anglesey provisional | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-2173 | 2023 | Solar battery smoke prompts fire crew response at Denton home | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-1537 | 2021 | Garage fire from overheated solar batteries in South Woodham Ferrers provisional | United Kingdom | Home battery |
| EIR-0023 | 2018 | Battery storage site commissioned without on site fire water provision, concern raised before any incident | United Kingdom | Concern, no incident |
11. Using this pack
Paragraphs you can paste into a planning statement or a consultee response. They are neutral, use only figures from this pack, and each carries its citation. Please keep the citation with the text.
Incidents in the UK
The Energy Incident Register, a public record built from published reporting, lists 5 incidents at grid-scale battery energy storage sites in the UK as of 29 October 2026, 1 of them classed as major. The nearest to the site is EIR-0249 (Smoke and fire incident at Battery Box, Pinhoe Road, Exeter), about 96 km away in a straight line.
Source: Energy Incident Register, planning evidence pack EIR-PACK-D-Y-BRYN-WIND-FARM-GB-16392, section 2, data as of 29 October 2026. Entry EIR-0249: https://energyincidentregister.com/incident/eir-0249/
Planning decisions nearby
The Renewable Energy Planning Database records 2 battery energy storage sites within 40 km of the site where an application was refused, withdrawn or taken to appeal. Their final outcomes are: 1 refused, 1 granted. The nearest refused scheme is Pen Y Maes, Ashby Road (Vale of Glamorgan, application 2024/00999/FUL), about 39 km from the site.
Source: Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, Renewable Energy Planning Database (Open Government Licence v3.0), as grouped by site in Energy Incident Register planning evidence pack EIR-PACK-D-Y-BRYN-WIND-FARM-GB-16392, section 3, data as of 29 October 2026.
Status of the fire service guidance
The National Fire Chiefs Council guidance for fire and rescue services on grid scale energy storage planning states: "As such, the fire and rescue service are not a statutory consultee in planning applications for BESS sites." It also states: "An effective and appropriate method of early fault detection within the batteries should be in place, making it possible to immediately disconnect the affected battery/batteries remotely."
Source: NFCC, Grid scale energy storage system planning: Guidance for fire and rescue services (approved for publication in December 2025, replacing the first edition), Section 4, Planning approval process and Section 8, Detection and monitoring. https://nfcc.org.uk/our-services/building-safety/grid-scale-energy-storage-system-planning-guidance-for-fire-and-rescue-services/
Worldwide context
Worldwide, the Energy Incident Register lists 156 incidents at grid-scale battery energy storage sites in 18 countries as of 29 October 2026. Of these, 136 involved fire or overheating and 17 are classed as major. The register counts published reports of incidents; the figures are not failure rates.
Source: Energy Incident Register, planning evidence pack EIR-PACK-D-Y-BRYN-WIND-FARM-GB-16392, section 9, data as of 29 October 2026.
12. How this pack was made and checked
- The register is built from published reporting: news, fire service statements, regulators and court records. Each entry lists its sources on its own page. Entries marked provisional rest on thinner sourcing and are rechecked.
- Grid-scale or not: an entry is grid-scale unless its reporting describes a home, farm or business battery, or an event that was not a battery failure. The rule is the same for every pack.
- Distances are measured from the site point (the planning record for Y Bryn Wind Farm) to each entry's map point, which is a town or a site, never an address.
- Planning decisions come from the government's Renewable Energy Planning Database (Open Government Licence v3.0), with corrections where a council's own record shows a later decision.
- Desk review. The EIR editorial desk checks each bought pack within 2 working days (Monday to Friday) of the order:
- The site point and planning authority match the planning record, or the details the buyer gave.
- Each UK incident is a separate event, not one fire written twice, and sits in the right table: grid-scale sites in the main table, home, farm and business batteries apart.
- Each UK grid-scale incident has a note, and every quoted passage matches the NFCC text at the link given.
- The three nearest planning decisions match the council's own planning record.
- The distances to the nearest incidents look right on a map.
- Nothing in the pack comes from a confidential submission or names a private person.
- If anything needs changing, the desk makes a new version and emails the link. Every version is fixed and dated, and earlier versions stay available at the same link. The method is at energyincidentregister.com/pack-method.
- Information only. It is not engineering, fire safety or legal advice. See the disclaimer.
How to cite: Energy Incident Register, planning evidence pack EIR-PACK-D-Y-BRYN-WIND-FARM-GB-16392, data as of 29 October 2026, energyincidentregister.com.
A correction to any entry is free for anyone: corrections. Questions about this pack: editor@energyincidentregister.com.